• Stevie

Book Review: The Case At Barton Manor



The Case At Barton Manor

Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates

by Emily Queen


  • ASIN : B07MM2PY74

  • Publication date : April 9, 2019

  • Print length : 158 pages

  • Kindle Edition



I read this book using my Kindle Unlimited membership. I received no compensation for my review, and all thoughts and opinions expressed are entirely my own.


1920’s London


Rosemary Lillywhite only wanted to be left alone to mourn her dead husband in peace, but when a desperate woman knocks on the door of her dead husband’s investigative office, she’s forced to make a choice: come out of hiding or turn Grace Barton away. Working cases with Andrew had been fulfilling, but she couldn't solve this case by herself—or could she?



When Rosemary discovers that Grace is from the same village where her family lives, and that they’re all invited to a party at Barton Manor, she knows it’s a proposition she can’t refuse. With her best friend, bright young thing Vera Blackburn at her side, Rosemary heads to the country and finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation.


The plot thickens when she’s forced to defend her brother Frederick’s good name, and is confronted with romantic feelings towards handsome CID detective and old friend Max Whittington. Will Rosemary solve the crime before the murderer strikes again?


Book one in The Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates series.


Are you ready to escape to the roaring twenties? For fans of Beth Byers, Leighann Dobbs, and Lee Strauss.


A light, cozy mystery with no swearing, graphic scenes, or cliffhangers.



I really wanted to like this book, because of the setting of London in the 1920's. Sadly, this book didn't quite do it for me. The story is a quick and lightweight read only 158 pages. The beginning towards middle of the story sort of dragged on with more of a concern of fashion and style rather contributing to the plot of the mystery. The mystery feels very superficial with a soap opera-y feel. I had to force myself to get through this book. I had no feeling towards the characters, not even for the main character Rosemary and her grief towards her dead husband Andrew, in which we never found out how he died. The one good thing I will say is the author has great potential, maybe hone down on her characters a bit more and the setting of which they are placed in so the story can be a more immersive read.





Emily Queen is a writer of historical fiction, including the Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates cozy mystery series. She lives in Maine, USA with her husband, two children, three cats, two dogs, and too many books to count.



Mrs. Lillywhite Investigates Series

1. The Case at Barton Manor (2019)

2. The Murder Next Door (2019)

3. Death on the Isle of Love (2019)

4. A Body Among the Roses (2020)

5. A Murder Most Unlikely (2020)

6. Most Definitely Murder (2020)

7. Death Down the Aisle (2021)



Emily's Blog

Emily's Twitter

Emily's Facebook

(The site is supported by earnings from the affiliate links. Thank you!)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"I'm an inquisitive being obsessed with

whodunits and food."

I'm interested in seeking out and making new mystery loving friends.

Thank you for stopping by, so glad that you're here. 

+Archives+
Abstract Colors 7
Abstract Colors 7

Thank You!

+Subscribe+
Abstract Colors 7
Abstract Colors 7
Abstract Colors 7